Three Ingredient Flourless Brownies

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Yes, they do exist. Yes, they are actually tasty, not to mention healthy!

After a failed attempt at making four ingredient homemade Nutella (here’s the recipe if you’re curious), I decided to try my luck at another healthy desert option. This time the culprit was three ingredient flourless brownies—recipe courtesy of The Big Man’s World.

In my opinion healthy desserts can be hit or miss when it comes to taste. Occasionally you’ll get something that you absolutely love, but there is also major potential for disappointment. So needless to say, I was skeptical about these brownies. But I ended up being pleasantly surprised.

The only three ingredients you need to make the brownies are 3 over ripened bananas, 1/2 cup of nut butter (I used almond butter but others will work), and 2 tbsp-1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (sweetened will also work).

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Then mash your bananas (Note: this step is very important if you’re like me and don’t want banana chunks in your brownies). I started the mashing process by hand and then threw the bananas in the blender for a few minutes. The bananas should have a liquid-like consistency when you’re done mashing. The next step is to melt the nut butter. I threw my almond butter in the microwave for one minute. Then combine the banana and nut butter in a bowl and stir completely.

The last, and probably most important, step is to add the cocoa powder. The recipe calls for between 2 tbsp and 1/4 cup depending on the richness you want. Since I like chocolate and rich desserts, I threw in 1/4 cup (and a little extra) to make sure the brownies were still chocolatey. Then bake brownies for 20 minutes. I let my brownies cool for about 25 minutes before eating.

I was actually very impressed with the taste of my brownies. The cocoa powder adds to the rich chocolate flavor and the bananas gave it a unique kick. My brownies ended up having a very similar consistency to flourless chocolate cake.

Although this may be obvious, I wouldn’t recommend this recipe for someone who dislikes bananas. You can definitely still taste the bananas after baking (think banana bread), but if you’re a fan you probably won’t mind.

The best part of this recipe is that you’re not sacrificing flavor for calories, which in my opinion is always a win.

Tried this recipe or have another recipe we should try? Give us your feedback. Leave it in the comments!

Stay Hungry,

Caroline

Leave a comment